LETTER TO MY OLDER SELF

Dear Ware-Ebi, 

It has been years since I wrote to you. The last time I did, I told you many things that would happen, and what you should do when they happen. But that was a long time ago, you were a boy then. Now, you have overtaken me; the student has become the teacher. You’ve grown into that man you always wanted to be. 

A thought troubled me, then, that you would end up as one of those “talented ones.” You know, the ones who everybody knew had talent, and thought would surely make it in life, but never amount to anything. I’m happy because you have silenced that thought. I’m so proud of who you are now. Your life is the manifestation of my earnest expectations. You’re an inspiration to many, first to me. 

I saw some of your photos, and I was quite pleased. You’ve changed so much, physically. I’m glad you finally stayed consistent with the gym; it looks great on you. I thought you would never return to that place. Looking at those photos sparked interest in me. I guess that’s how it should be. 

I’m curious about how many things turned out, but I’ll slow down, and take it one at a time. Over here, it’s almost time for graduation, and I’ve imagined it in so many ways. Did mum and dad eventually show up, or was it just you that day? And how did you feel, being in that same gown you had worn five years earlier? The thought of it is elating. 

In one of the photos, there was a ring on your finger. I expected it because you’re thirty-four now; you always said you’d be married before thirty. It’s a good thing, and I’m glad you figured that out. And how is it going for you? Is it as you imagined all those years ago? How is your son? Does he have football boots and a backyard pitch where you practice with him? I’m sorry for the forensic questions; I’m excited and need details. When you reply to this letter, I would like to see pictures of you together. I bet he looks just like you. 

Back to the ring talk; your wife was not in any of the photos I saw. I’m curious to know who she is. I really hope it’s who I’m thinking. And if there’s one thing I really want to know, it’s how you were able to build a relationship to that stage, because the journey seems to be like climbing Mount Everest. It’s not easy for me now, but heck, is it easy for anyone? I read a quote about relationships recently, and it brews in my mind when things start to get tough:  

“Nobody’s relationship is working; it is the people who do the work.”

Pastor Tobore Davids

Anyway, enough of all that. A few weeks ago – which would be a long time ago for you – in a conversation with Temisan, I joked about how Nigerians love to attach their names to their businesses. It’s amusing because you did the same, and I must say, you’re doing well. The Guwor Group is a big name in the country – for businesses you have built. I really do not want to know how you made it work, because here I am trying to push Guwor Express. I’m glad I/you didn’t give up on it.  

I’m here trying to write what’s in my heart, trusting God and just doing my thing. It’s challenging, but I wake up every day and say, “Today, I’m going to write.” I recently learned that I must be very intentional about everything I do, and that’s what I’m trying to do now. I want to trust GOD and do what He says.  

But hey, how did you ever manage to balance writing and engineering? I just started this everyday-even-on-weekends 5am model, and it’s not easy at all. It requires wisdom and discipline. Today, after waking up at 5am, the sleep said no. I was forced back to bed and woke up by 6am for my morning run. That’s something I’m glad I started, and even happier you continued. I’m happy you figured out how to write with everything you have going on. Congratulations on your book, by the way. I’m yet to read it, but I know what you can do and trust that you’ll deliver. I’ll send my feedback immediately after I finish reading it. 

And yes, family. How’s mummy doing? How’s pops and everybody? I hope they’re doing fine over there. I read that Bolouere is now a professor; it’s an outstanding achievement. She has always been that person, anyway. After she bagged her master’s degree at 22, a PhD was inevitable. Everybody seems to be doing well. And my goodness, Tama is an Olympic-winning athlete. I’m not surprised because she could never stop running when she was younger. Sports are a big part of who she is; she’s right where she should be. 

In a few years, you’ll celebrate 40, and when you look back at your life, I want you to remember this letter and the words here. I’m immensely proud of the man that you are. I’m grateful for SaltCity Church because stepping into that place changed a lot for you. We thank God for His perfect plans.  

In your last letter, you mentioned you’re closer to your goal of reading a thousand books, and I love that. I’m sure they’re some books that have been on your reading list for years. I beg of you; please release them. Try and read them. And I think you’d need a new bookshelf. The one I saw in those photos looked like it could not take any more books. 

Again, I’m proud of the man that you are, a man commanding his household after GOD. Now I know there is hope for me. Now I know. 

Keep shining, I’ll write to you again, soon. 

Best regards,  

You. 

2 thoughts on “LETTER TO MY OLDER SELF

  1. Another one again🥹. This was beautiful to read.
    I do have my own challenges I wrote in this too but I never finished it and I don’t think I’ll ever post them, someday I might die to the fact you are my biggest icon and my one time motivation. I like your writings it’s inspiring 😩

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment